Skip to content

Ethics Class= Better Journalists?

by on December 16, 2016

After reading “Journalism ethics classes: Do they make better journalists?” I started thinking if this statement was true. After a semester of learning about ethics in journalism, I personally feel like I’ve learned a lot about ethics. But, I am still not sure if I will be able to confidently make decisions as a journalist and don’t know if that decision will be 100% correct. I am curious to see where everyone else stand after taking an ethics course.

Tom Bivans from the University of Oregon said, “I really believe working journalists are often blinded by the very routine of news gathering and the heavy socialization that takes place when they enter the field. They imagine they have no time to contemplate ethics.”

People believed that ethics was important in journalism, so they started requiring courses to be taken by journalists. However, the important questions I am curious is, “Does taking a couple of ethics course makes someone a better journalist?” “Just because a journalist holds firm beliefs and morals, is that what defines a good journalist?”

I believe that ethics courses open up journalists to different perspectives and have them think in various ways. However, I am not sure if it is the defining aspect that would make a better journalist. Knowing about the ethics and studying about the importance of it is good, but I am not sure if it will necessarily help the journalist in the end. This might just be me because after a class of journalism ethics, I am honestly a little more confused on where I should stand and how I would go about things.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

